KASAI ALLSTARS are back to rattle your bones !

"Beware The Fetish" is the long-awaited second album by KASAI ALLSTARS, the mindblowing, Kinshasa-based musicians' collective, whose debut album, In the 7th Moon, The Chief Turned Into a Swimming Fish and Ate the Head of His Enemy By Magic, made a lasting impact on the imagination of artists and music lovers worldwide.

As the band's aficionados already know, the core of Kasai Allstars consists of fifteen musicians from five bands, all from the Kasai region, but originating from five different ethnic groups, whose relationships have often been conflictual in the past. Kasai Allstars draw their songs from festive/ritual music which used to be played in the bush before being banned, because of the allegedly scandalous aspects of the erotic dances and the re-enacted pagan trance rituals, which were viewed as being unholy, even satanic.

Also included on this disc is the track "The Ploughman" recorded with the supergroup Congotronics vs Rockers (featuring Konono No. 1, Deerhoof, Juana Molina, Matt Mehlan, Wildbirds & Peacedrums).

As with all other albums in the Congotronics series, "Beware The Fetish" was produced, recorded & mixed by Vincent Kenis.

This double-CD contains 12 tracks of wild, trance-inducing, raw intensity, clocking in at over 100 minutes. The album also comes out as a limited–edition, single vinyl LP, comprising 6 of the CD/digital tracks, plus one vinyl-only exclusive track, and a download code for the full 12-track version.

Shop Front